Skip to content

Opera 9.5 vs. Firefox 3

June 25, 2008

Source: Alvaro SG

Other day I downloaded Opera 9.5 browser.
The new version of Firefox 3 was troubling me a lot. So I thought, why should not I give a try at much talked about browser and its new version-Opera 9.5.

To my surprise, I found that this browser was performing much better than what I expected and also far better than the new version of FF3. The pages were loading were fast and it had most of the extensions of FF pre-installed. Firefox extensions such as Fast DiaI, Fire Gestures etc. were already present in Opera. I, then, checked the appearance part-skins and color schemes. I don’t think Opera could beat FF in this regard as the latter has huge store of themes in it. But, some of the skins in Opera were simply beautiful.

Some of the widgets in opera were amazingly good. I liked “Artist’s Sketch book” and “Google toolbar”. I need to explore even further to know more about its tools and widgets.

I feel it is very difficult to say which browser is better of the two. Firefox with its huge functionality and support from open source programmers appears to be more popular. Huge downloads of Firefox 3 have clearly demonstrated this fact. Before judging which browser occupies the top position, I need to probe these browsers even deeper, especially Opera 9.5.
Check out some of the top browsers now reining the web world.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 26, 2008 12:18 am

    bottom line:

    opera IS better

    people are just too stupid to do some research about the browsers so they go with the crowd and their most popular browser

  2. sriniani permalink*
    June 28, 2008 5:44 pm

    @paul. After using Opera for the past threee days, I have started beleiving in what you said. Yes, I now feel that Opera IS better than Firefox.

  3. July 14, 2008 4:00 pm

    yeah opera 9.5 is the best in skin mem usage and browsing speed but ff3 is better in some issues and java but opera still the best

    thanx for the review

  4. abhishek permalink
    July 16, 2008 10:34 am

    yeah,i hav bin using opera for a couple of years now and find no reason to switch to FF

  5. Mushaf permalink
    September 5, 2008 10:33 am

    Opera 9.5 rocks! I’ve been using it for the past two days and now I’m feeling like why haven’t I switched to it earlier!! I was using Firefox 2 before Opera 9.5, and didn’t had the wish to upgrade to FF3 hearing that its almost the same as FF2, not too much difference considering the way I’m using internet. This new Opera 9.52 is fast, it looks sleek, having smooth navigation, speed dial (the feature I’m loving most) and all of the important things in one panel bar. To me its better to have these things pre-included rather than installing them manually as add-ons in Firefox to just jam-pack it more.

  6. sriniani permalink*
    September 5, 2008 10:42 am

    Thank you Mushaf. Opera has many fans like you because of its innovative features. Even the new browser Google Chrome has copied some of the features such as speed dial from opera.

Leave a Reply

