Skip to content

Mozilla’s Ubiquity – An amazing web tool

August 29, 2008

Mozilla Labs calls it “An experiment into connecting the Web with language.”  I am talking about an innovative browser extension Ubiquity from Mozilla Labs which could revolutionize the way web tasks are performed.

With the simple language-based instructions, it lets users control the web browser. It provides you user-generated mashups with existing Web APIs. It lets “… you map and insert maps anywhere; translate on-page; search amazon, google, wikipedia, yahoo, youtube, etc.; digg and twitter; lookup and insert yelp review; get the weather; syntax highlight any code you find; and a lot more”- all on the run.

Mozilla Labs states the overall objective of this tool: “… connecting the Web with language in an attempt to find new user interfaces that could make it possible for everyone to do common Web tasks more quickly and easily.” I believe that it is living up to its grand objective.

Yesterday, I added the extension to the browser. I was astonished to see the amazing functionality of this extension. I made a video recording of my trials. See for yourself how it simplifies web tasks and provides amazing online experience.

Here is my video of my Ubiquity trials.

Also see what Arstechnica said about Ubiquity.

To know more about it see its tutorial.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 30, 2008 6:59 am

    Looks like a very useful add-on. Thank you for uploading the video. 🙂

  2. September 3, 2008 8:52 am

    I think it will be a very good add-on for Google Chrome.

Leave a comment